The UO Undergraduate Research Symposium celebrates the remarkable contributions our undergraduates make to research and other creative work in a wide range of disciplines. The symposium, co-chaired by Kevin Hatfield and Nadia Singh, aspires to engage undergraduates in the research mission of the University of Oregon by supporting the creation and dissemination of knowledge, while inspiring younger undergraduates to seek out research opportunities and removing barriers to interdisciplinary education and discourse.

The event enables undergraduates to share their ideas, discoveries, and artistic expression with the campus and local community. Undergraduate participants are invited to select their preferred style of presentation to best accommodate their projects. We will host a hybrid event in 2021, blending in-person and remote presentation opportunities. The pivot to a virtual symposium format in spring 2020 offered unprecedented access and engagement for presenters’ mentors, families, and peers, as well as faculty, staff, alumni, donors, and community members. This shift also culminated in a digital exhibit of undergraduate research on our symposium YouTube channel that now hosts 162 videos comprising over 400 individual presentations. The site has enjoyed more than 9,500 views since May 21 and we enjoyed over 1,000 visitors on the day of the event.

The Undergraduate Research Symposium is sponsored by the Division of Undergraduate Education and Student Success, the Center for Undergraduate Research and Engagement (CURE), the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation, University Housing, the Robert D. Clark Honors College, the UO Libraries, the TRIO McNair Scholars Program, and Division of Student Life.

Questions? Please email ugresearch@uoregon.edu. For information from peers about research and how to get involved, please email ASURE at asure@uoregon.edu


Undergraduate Research Symposium Co-Chairs Kevin Hatfield and Nadia Singh. 


Undergraduate Research Symposium Planning Committee

Kevin Hatfield (Co-Chair)
Assistant Vice Provost for Undergraduate Research and Distinguished Scholarships
Director of the Center for Undergraduate Research and Engagement (CURE)
Faculty, History
Nadia Singh (Co-Chair)
Associate Vice President for Research, Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation
Associate Professor, Biology
Professor, Anthropology
Jacy Berg
College Events Coordinator, Robert D. Clark Honors College 
Hannah Bishop
Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Oregon Institute of Neuroscience
Nancy Cunningham
Senior Librarian
Interim Associate Dean of Libraries, Research Services, UO Libraries
Isabelle Cullen (Student Member)
Lead Coordinator, Affiliated Students of Undergraduate Research and Engagement (ASURE)
Christabelle Dragoo
Director, Ronald E. McNair Scholars Program
Lara Fernandez
Executive Director, Summer Academy to Inspire Learning (SAIL)
Alexa Foor
UO doctoral student, English and Environmental Science
Daphne Gallagher
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies, Robert D. Clark Honors College





Central Oregon Community College Members

Sarah Baron
Assistant Professor, Health and Human Performance
Andria Woodell
Professor, Psychology
Diane Pritchard
Director, Careers, Advising, Personal Counseling (CAP) Services
Barbara Jenkins
Coordinator, Outreach & Special Programs, UO Libraries
Psychology, Religious Studies & Judaic Studies Librarian
Andy Karduna
Associate Dean of the Graduate School
Professor, Human Physiology
Yalin Li (Student Member)
Events Coordinator, Affiliated Students of Undergraduate Research and Engagement (CURE) 
Ashley Mapile
UO doctoral student, Chemistry
Lanch McCormick
Director of Student Engagement, Center for Undergraduate Research and Engagement  
Division of Undergraduate Education and Student Success
Colin Miller
Lead Designer and Director of Publications, University Housing
Jennifer O'Neal
Assistant Professor, Indigenous, Race and Ethnic Studies
Karl Reasoner
Senior Program Manager, Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP), Office of the Vice President of Research and Innovation
Josh Snodgrass
Professor, Anthropology
Jessica Winders
Assistant Director of Academic Residential and Research Initiatives, University Housing and Division of Undergraduate Education and Student Success
Mckenzie Winders
Operation Manager, Student Orientation Programs, Division of Student Services and Enrollment Management

Lane Community College Members

Jennifer Frei
Associate Vice President for Arts and Sciences
Stacey Kiser
Biology Faculty
Ce Rosenow
Faculty Coordinator, Lane Honors Program
Paul Ruscher
Dean, Science, Mathematics, and Engineering